traivellers joy
Track Listing
  1. Traiveller's Joy
  2. Take You Home
  3. Dreams and Lullabies
  4. Sweet Lover of Mine
  5. Still We Dance On
  6. Butterfly
  7. Waltzing's For Dreamers
  8. Roll on Lovely Doon
  9. Gypsy Davy
  10. Lord Donald
  11. Somewhere Along The Road
  12. What a Voice
Release Date: 2011


Traiveller’s Joy features songs written on the road throughout 2010 blending alongside traditional material sourced from the travelling people of Scotland.  Emily continues to draw inspiration from her home area of rural Dumfriesshire but this release sees her writing from a more personal viewpoint than before.

The release of this album led to two nominations at the 2012 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards for 'Folk Singer of the Year' and Best Traditional Track (Sweet Lover of Mine).

Perfectly complimenting Smith’s vocals are guest musicians on fiddle, guitar, bouzouki, percussion, flute and double bass with Emily also backing on piano and accordion.

Covers include Rick Kemp’s ‘Somewhere Along the Road’, which Emily recently performed on BBC1’s ‘Songs of Praise' and ‘Waltzing’s For Dreamers’ by Richard Thompson, whom Emily opened for on his UK tour in 2009 and was subsequently featured at London’s Meltdown Festival 2010 during his year as curator.